Wednesday, January 28, 2015

My New Found Obsession

Penguin are always bringing out new designs of old books and some of them are not too bad looking but every now and then they will do something that I just fall in love with.  This time it is the Penguin Drop Caps and they are just so amazing looking.  There are 26 books in the series and they were published from 2013 to 2014.  The reason there are 26 books in the series is that there is one for each letter in the alphabet.  Each one corresponding to the author's surname.  For instance, A is Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice.

And here we have a pictorial example of what it looks like:

Now I wanted to give some reasons as to why these books are amazing and why I think they should be collected.  Also, I personally am going to be trying to collect these over the next year or so and the way I am doing that is by reading one and then buying another one once I have read it, this is so as not to clog up my tbr pile.

Reasons why reading the Penguin Drop Caps Books is a great idea:
  1. They look absolutely gorgeous.
  2. There is an amazing selection of books that provides something for everyone.
  3. There is a lot of talk about reading diversely lately and I feel as though this collection provides quite a bit of diversity in different ways.
  4. There is so much diversity in the time periods the books were published in but also in the time periods they were set in.
  5. There is also a lot of cultural diversity in terms of there being American, European and Asian authors all contributing to the set.
  6. You'll feel a real sense of achievement having read all 26 books.  There is just so many books in there that are very impressive.
  7. The books are amazing in quality.  The page edges are coloured and the paper is very good quality.  The font is so nice and easy to read.
  8. This is what they all look like on the shelf when you have them all:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are always awesome!